top of page

Rogue Wave Reveals New Sound During Show at Teragram Ballroom in Los Angeles

On June 17, Oakland-based rock band Rogue Wave took the stage at Teragram Ballroom in Los Angeles to perform tracks from their sixth LP, Delusions of Grand Fur.

It is the band’s first release in three years, since they debuted 2013’s Nightingale Floors. When you listen to Delusions of Grand Fur, Rogue Wave might sound like a totally different band from the one that you remember listening to six years ago, but frontman Zach Schwartz a.k.a. Zach Rogue’s new material reflects the band’s identity.

Give it a listen and you’ll still be able to catch Zach’s saccharine vocals and harmony-saturated choruses between Pat Spurgeon’s steady drumming, and guitarist Jon Monahan’s riffs.

The music is still, in its own way, cathartic.

You get a sense that the band is actively working through life’s highs and lows through the music, which is evident when they are performing live.

Following their hiatus, Rogue Wave began a 29-date tour that set off in Oakland at the Starline Ballroom. Almost immediately, you could tell that the band was excited to share the songs they had worked so hard on for their fans.

By the time they played “Look at Me,” the entire crowd was on board, even the people who were hanging around the bar top all night made their way in front of the stage. They appreciated the music.

Aside from a few jams off the new LP, Rogue Wave made sure to also include a few popular tracks from the past, such as “Michigan” and “Eyes.”

Delusions of Grand Fur track list:

1. Take It Slow

2. In the Morning

3. California Bride

4. Look at Me

5. Falling

6. Curious Me

7. What Is Left to Solve

8. Frozen Lake

9. Endless Supply

10. Ocean

11. Last Picture Show

12. Mimento Mori


bottom of page